GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm attempting to put on a Tepui Low-Pro 3 on the roof of my 2014 Terrain SLT. We have the factory rails and bars already, but the bars need to be spaced 32"-42" to mount the RTT and the maximum spacing on the stock bars/rail is 27.5". The tent weighs 120 lbs. From the research I have done there are 3 options, PLEASE let me know what you think!

1) Attached to this post is an image of a plastic insert that can be removed, what is this thing for? Is it to extend the length of your rail? If so I could get the 5" extra inches needed and wouldn't need to replace my whole roofrack system.

2) I could replace the rails and keep the bars, since it is the rails themselves that don't allow for the bars to be separated 32"-42". I can't find any rail replacements that fit the vehicle though, I have never done this before. Is it possible to replace just the rails and keep my bars?

3) I can replace the entire rail and bar system, but I don't know where to start with that either. I am really worried I will spend upwards of $300 and it won't fit my vehicle. Again, any help is very much appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
203 Posts
Hi,

I'm attempting to put on a Tepui Low-Pro 3 on the roof of my 2014 Terrain SLT. We have the factory rails and bars already, but the bars need to be spaced 32"-42" to mount the RTT and the maximum spacing on the stock bars/rail is 27.5". The tent weighs 120 lbs. From the research I have done there are 3 options, PLEASE let me know what you think!

1) Attached to this post is an image of a plastic insert that can be removed, what is this thing for? Is it to extend the length of your rail? If so I could get the 5" extra inches needed and wouldn't need to replace my whole roofrack system.