GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Plan to purcahse one or the other. I like the truck like look of the Terrian but depends upon the deal I can get. I currently drive a 13 year old S-10 4x4 with a V-6 with a 5-speed stick. This truck struggles to get up a hill with my trailer behind it. EPA rates this truck at 20 highway mpg and I get 19.7.

About 10 times a year I tow a small trailer with my quad in it. The trip is about 80 miles round trip on flat ground. The total rig weighs between 1100-1200 pounds. Maybe once a year I tow the same rig to the mountains where the height is less then 2500 feet in elevation. Will I be satisfied with a 4 banger or should I opt for the V-6? I am a consertive driver and figure the difference in mileage for the number of miles I drive (15K a year) would cost me an extra $400 a year to drive the V-6 at a gas rate of $3.50 per gallon. Will I be satisfied with the acceleration of the 4 cylinder in every day driving, for passing, and entering the freeway? At my age this should be the last car I buy before I retire and don't want to make a $30K mistake. I know I can test drive both engines and feel the difference in acceleration for myself but need to know about the towing. When I need acceleration that pins me back in the seat I'll drive my vette, the Terrian or Nox will be my daily driver. I would like responses on the towing question from people who actually tow and if you respond please list the size of your engine. If you tow and have the 4 cylinder do you wish you would have bought the V-6?

·
Registered
978 Posts
While nothing prohibits you from adding a hitch to most any vehicle...

On their Website Chevy states:

"Trailering Package

If you plan to tow a trailer, boat or camper behind your new Equinox®, be sure to add the Trailering Package, which includes a Class II 1-1/4" receiver hitch and 4-wire trailer light harness connection.