GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to an automatic of my own. I came across a general comment on a fuel tracking site about coasting and whether or not it helps your MPG.
I was wondering if anyone in these forums knows enough about the Ecotec engine in the 2011 Equinox to know if:

1) Is it safe to switch to coast when you know you'll be slowing to a stop no matter what the initial velocity is?
Personally, I've never just shifted from drive to neutral to have ever considered this although it seems like it should be ok.

2) Is this beneficial with this engine?

Below is the comment that made me wonder:
"Coasting to a stop in neutral with a modern manual (and in some instances automatic) transmission might not actually save you as much gas as keeping it in gear. Many modern engine management systems sense deceleration and negative load while the car is in gear and cut off fuel from the injectors, allowing the turning drive shaft to keep the engine going. Shifting into neutral while decelerating means the system has to keep the engine running with gas."

·
Registered
441 Posts
if you anal, go ahead and go all out on hypermiling....

i dont think its worth it..... IMHO

·
Registered
10,498 Posts
jecilop said:
2) Is this beneficial with this engine?

Below is the comment that made me wonder:
"Coasting to a stop in neutral with a modern manual (and in some instances automatic) transmission might not actually save you as much gas as keeping it in gear. Many modern engine management systems sense deceleration and negative load while the car is in gear and cut off fuel from the injectors, allowing the turning drive shaft to keep the engine going. Shifting into neutral while decelerating means the system has to keep the engine running with gas."