GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a very stupid question. On my 2011 Nox, how does the car know where what tire is after a rotation? Right now I can see the tire pressure on each tire on the display and on Onstar reports, but how does it know when the front tire is moved to the back? Is there a sensor in the tire or in the valve stem?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Check your owners manual. There is a process that you have to do when you rotate the tires so it will relearn where each wheel is located.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
WHAT?! You mean I have to read?
Ha Ha - Thanks for the info, I guess I should have looked there first.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
If tires are rotated then the TPM sensors have to be reprogrammed so they display right.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
The instructions to reset them are on page 10-54 of the owners manual. It does require a special tool, so it's not something you can just do on your own.

Here are the instructions from the manual:


The sensors are matched to the tire/wheel positions, using a TPMS relearn tool, in the following order:
driver side front tire, passenger side front tire, passenger side rear tire, and driver side rear. See your dealer for service or to purchase a relearn tool.

There are two minutes to match the first tire/wheel position, and five minutes overall to match all four tire/wheel positions. If it takes longer, the matching process stops and must be restarted.

The TPMS sensor matching process is:

1. Set the parking brake.
2. Turn the ignition to ON/RUN with the engine off.
3. Use the MENU button to select the Vehicle Information Menu in the Driver Information Center (DIC). Use the arrow keys to scroll to the Tire Pressure screen.
4. Press the SET/CLR button to begin the sensor matching process.
A message requesting acceptance of the process should display.
5. Press the SET/CLR button again to confirm the selection.
The horn sounds twice to signal the receiver is in relearn mode and the TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message displays on the DIC screen.
6. Start with the driver side front tire.
7. Place the relearn tool against the tire sidewall, near the valve stem. Then press the button to activate the TPMS sensor.
A horn chirp confirms that the sensor identification code has been matched to this tire and wheel position.
8. Proceed to the passenger side front tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7.
9. Proceed to the passenger side rear tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7.
10. Proceed to the driver side rear tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7. The horn sounds two times to indicate the sensor identification code has been matched to the driver side rear tire, and the TPMS sensor matching process is no longer active. The TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message on the DIC display screen goes off.
11. Turn the ignition to LOCK/OFF.
12. Set all four tires to the recommended air pressure level as indicated on the Tire and Loading Information label.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
977 Posts
There is a tool you can buy for around $60 that reset them. My local shop has a universal tool. If you have a local shop they may just do it for you. Takes less than a minute
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
949 Posts
Speaking of the tire pressure sensors... is there a way to "calibrate" each sensor? When checked by hand (with a good gauge) they read about 4 PSI higher than what the DIC shows. It hasn't always been like that, seems like it's progressed over the last 2,000 miles or so. Do they calibrate themselves as they "relearn" the sensors like above?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,499 Posts
Sumr616 said:
Speaking of the tire pressure sensors... is there a way to "calibrate" each sensor? When checked by hand (with a good gauge) they read about 4 PSI higher than what the DIC shows. It hasn't always been like that, seems like it's progressed over the last 2,000 miles or so. Do they calibrate themselves as they "relearn" the sensors like above?
I would guess that the TPMS "ought" to be very accurate. How to you know that your "good gauge" is "exact" or accurate? Have your challenged your readings with a dealer's gauge or maybe one at a tire store ? They should have very accurate gauges since it is their business.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
216 Posts
cmarcho said:
The instructions to reset them are on page 10-54 of the owners manual. It does require a special tool, so it's not something you can just do on your own.

Here are the instructions from the manual:


The sensors are matched to the tire/wheel positions, using a TPMS relearn tool, in the following order:
driver side front tire, passenger side front tire, passenger side rear tire, and driver side rear. See your dealer for service or to purchase a relearn tool.

There are two minutes to match the first tire/wheel position, and five minutes overall to match all four tire/wheel positions. If it takes longer, the matching process stops and must be restarted.

The TPMS sensor matching process is:

1. Set the parking brake.
2. Turn the ignition to ON/RUN with the engine off.
3. Use the MENU button to select the Vehicle Information Menu in the Driver Information Center (DIC). Use the arrow keys to scroll to the Tire Pressure screen.
4. Press the SET/CLR button to begin the sensor matching process.
A message requesting acceptance of the process should display.
5. Press the SET/CLR button again to confirm the selection.
The horn sounds twice to signal the receiver is in relearn mode and the TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message displays on the DIC screen.
6. Start with the driver side front tire.
7. Place the relearn tool against the tire sidewall, near the valve stem. Then press the button to activate the TPMS sensor.
A horn chirp confirms that the sensor identification code has been matched to this tire and wheel position.
8. Proceed to the passenger side front tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7.
9. Proceed to the passenger side rear tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7.
10. Proceed to the driver side rear tire, and repeat the procedure in Step 7. The horn sounds two times to indicate the sensor identification code has been matched to the driver side rear tire, and the TPMS sensor matching process is no longer active. The TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message on the DIC display screen goes off.
11. Turn the ignition to LOCK/OFF.
12. Set all four tires to the recommended air pressure level as indicated on the Tire and Loading Information label.
This sucks!!!!; I haven't had to have my tires rotated yet and just "assumed" it was the same process as on our 08 Enclave-----------wrong.
On the enclave the process is similar except you let air out of each tire until the horn sounds then fill the tires to the correct PSI. I take the Enclave to Sam's; rotate and balance for about $16 or $17. Guess GM has figured out another way to Screw us by paying the dealer much more to just rotate the tires cause I'm sure Sam's (or most tire stores) doen't have the required tool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
949 Posts
RIT333 said:
I would guess that the TPMS "ought" to be very accurate. How to you know that your "good gauge" is "exact" or accurate? Have your challenged your readings with a dealer's gauge or maybe one at a tire store ? They should have very accurate gauges since it is their business.
My gauge hasn't failed me yet. I even tried a different one as well to see if it made a difference but it didn't at the time. That was a few weeks ago. Guess it's worth trying again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
43sbest said:
This sucks!!!!; I haven't had to have my tires rotated yet and just "assumed" it was the same process as on our 08 Enclave-----------wrong.
On the enclave the process is similar except you let air out of each tire until the horn sounds then fill the tires to the correct PSI. I take the Enclave to Sam's; rotate and balance for about $16 or $17. Guess GM has figured out another way to Screw us by paying the dealer much more to just rotate the tires cause I'm sure Sam's (or most tire stores) doen't have the required tool.
On page 9-55 of my manual it tells how to reprogram the TPS by just letting the air out of the sensors which I have done myself 3 times.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,499 Posts
2010 Nox 2LT said:
On page 9-55 of my manual it tells how to reprogram the TPS by just letting the air out of the sensors which I have done myself 3 times.
I think that ability was changed in 2011. That was one of the "features" they added in 2011, along with the start-up engine noise for the 4-cyl so that you knew if was actually running, and didn't try to restart it and ruin your starter motor. Gee - GM was thinking of everything in 2011.

:thumbdown:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
338 Posts
RIT333 said:
I think that ability was changed in 2011. That was one of the "features" they added in 2011, along with the start-up engine noise for the 4-cyl so that you knew if was actually running, and didn't try to restart it and ruin your starter motor. Gee - GM was thinking of everything in 2011.

:thumbdown:
;D Sorry but that gave me a pretty good laugh. I know the people that have this problem see no humor in it but....

BTW you can't re-engage the starter after the vehicle starts.

You can always rotate your tires but not reset the monitors. If your DIC says the left rear is low, you would know it is the left front. The second time you rotate them you will be back to the proper positions. I have a deja vu on what I just typed. I wonder if I have posted that here before...hmmm...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
ChevyMgr said:
;D Sorry but that gave me a pretty good laugh. I know the people that have this problem see no humor in it but....

BTW you can't re-engage the starter after the vehicle starts.

You can always rotate your tires but not reset the monitors. If your DIC says the left rear is low, you would know it is the left front. The second time you rotate them you will be back to the proper positions. I have a deja vu on what I just typed. I wonder if I have posted that here before...hmmm...
I wondered if anyone else does this. I did the let the air out thing one time then just said "oh well being right half the time is good enough". It's not like you can't pull up the display and then get outside of the car and see exactly which tire is low.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
949 Posts
RIT333 said:
I think that ability was changed in 2011. That was one of the "features" they added in 2011, along with the start-up engine noise for the 4-cyl so that you knew if was actually running, and didn't try to restart it and ruin your starter motor. Gee - GM was thinking of everything in 2011.

:thumbdown:
lol. I still laughed.

Oatie - good point. Nice feature, but um, I DO know how to use a tire gauge too. lol.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
43sbest said:
This sucks!!!!; I haven't had to have my tires rotated yet and just "assumed" it was the same process as on our 08 Enclave-----------wrong.
On the enclave the process is similar except you let air out of each tire until the horn sounds then fill the tires to the correct PSI. I take the Enclave to Sam's; rotate and balance for about $16 or $17. Guess GM has figured out another way to Screw us by paying the dealer much more to just rotate the tires cause I'm sure Sam's (or most tire stores) doen't have the required tool.
The first time I had the Chevy dealer rotate my tires, I left without realizing the TPM sensors would be out of sync (they never told me at the dealership), but I later discovered the problem by accident. The second time I had them rotated, I asked them to re sync the sensors to the correct tire position, which they gladly did. When I received the bill, I discovered a charge of $20 for re sync. They never bothered to tell me up front that there was an extra charge.
Personally, in the future, I will not be doing the re sync. If the monitoring system signals a low tire pressure, I simply pull out my trusty gage and locate which tire needs air.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
216 Posts
fanman said:
The first time I had the Chevy dealer rotate my tires, I left without realizing the TPM sensors would be out of sync (they never told me at the dealership), but I later discovered the problem by accident. The second time I had them rotated, I asked them to re sync the sensors to the correct tire position, which they gladly did. When I received the bill, I discovered a charge of $20 for re sync. They never bothered to tell me up front that there was an extra charge.
Personally, in the future, I will not be doing the re sync. If the monitoring system signals a low tire pressure, I simply pull out my trusty gage and locate which tire needs air.
No way I'm going to pay $20; mine will just be out of sync every other rotation. Easy enough to locate which tire is low if the TPM indicates a low tire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
fanman said:
The first time I had the Chevy dealer rotate my tires, I left without realizing the TPM sensors would be out of sync (they never told me at the dealership), but I later discovered the problem by accident. The second time I had them rotated, I asked them to re sync the sensors to the correct tire position, which they gladly did. When I received the bill, I discovered a charge of $20 for re sync. They never bothered to tell me up front that there was an extra charge.
Personally, in the future, I will not be doing the re sync. If the monitoring system signals a low tire pressure, I simply pull out my trusty gage and locate which tire needs air.
I had the same thing happen at my GMC dealer. Tires rotated on my Terrain, TPM not re-synced. When I realized I called and told that that the TPM was reading in reverse. The info it was showing for the front two wheels was actually for the back two and vice versa. They told me to swing by and they'd reset it. They did, and didn't charge me a dime. The whole thing took less than five minutes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,106 Posts
I tried to do the learning process as detailed above and in the manual...It didnt work..got the chirping and the learning message, but never detected the tire...

So I dont bother anymore...I figure if I get the message low tire pressure, I can look..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
300 Posts
I don't worry about reprogramming the sensors, I never look at the tire pressure on the DIC, I do it the old fashion way, I use my own gauge once a month. If I pick up a nail it doesn't take a genius to see which tire is low.
 
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
Top