GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for a diagnostic/scan tool to use on my Terrain Diesel. I currently have accounts with a local snap on and Cornwell dealers, so if I could get it through them that would be a plus. Also would consider a tablet or phone based app. I'm a construction equipment mechanic, so diesel engines and the emissions systems aren't new to me.

I've had it 3 months and it's been in the shop as many times for the same recurring problem and now the warranty is out, and the mouthbreathers at the dealer are useless. The first time, they just forced a regen and called it good (I drive 200+ interstate miles per day, so I knew that wasn't the problem.), second time a MAF sensor; third time the ECM. Still the same problem.

The ability to test emissions related components and/or perform forced regens would be a huge plus.

·
Registered
185 Posts
For what you want, I would ask the Snap on rep what they have for you, since you have account with them. Failing that you can then go to the actual Dealer scan tool as the Snap on if available would be a world of pain money wise. The GM tool is the Bosch MDI2 with the GDS2 Software which loaded to a laptop, you would need an account with GM in order to use their software but you could do everything that the dealer can do and update modules as they are released.
The downside is that its only GM worldwide and not Snap on which would allow you to do many other makes. Sorry to hear about your Diesel emission issues and I hope that it works out for you.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I only hesitate with a Snap On because of the price.

If there is a cheaper option, I'm definitely open to suggestions.

·
Registered
531 Posts
I've been using Autoenginuity in a laptop for my gas GM fleet for a few years now. Laptop based and upgrade-able. They show Duramax coverage.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5