GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in Canada and my 2015 Terrain has about 60,000 KMs on it. I bought it new back in 2015. The brakes have not been replaced yet. I have not felt anything 'wrong' with the brakes so far. Yesterday, I was in for an oil change and the dealer told me that only 2-3 mm left on the pads and that I should replace pads AND rotors. Their quote was bout $1300 for both front and rears. I called another shop and they told me that pads and rotors must be replaced together as they can't warranty pads without replacing rotors. Their quote was around $1200. Is it normal to replace pads and rotors together even if rotors are still ok? I'm not an expert so I can't tell how 'bad' my rotors are but I thought they would last a lot more than 60,000 KMs. I have attached a picture.

Attachments

·
Registered
880 Posts
Replaced pads and rotors on my 2015 at 52,000 miles. Dealer did the work. They initially quoted me $950 USD. I hesitated, and asked if there were any brake specials going on. They came back with a quote of $650 because there was a special.

Might want to ask your dealer about current brake pad and brake rotor specials.

·
Registered
5,398 Posts
Hmmm, youre in the rustbelt. So rust plays a major part for you.

Im in Southern California.
I replaced pads at 100,000.
My oems were still thick.
But 100k maintenance i replaced.
Now at 115,000 i felt a very light vibration in steering wheel when making a quick stop coming down a hill.
Yesterday did an oil change and took rotors off and had them turned. Put them back on. Went to empty street and got up to about 50 and hit the brakes hard.
Drove that hill today, smooth braking.
115,000 miles on these factory rotors.

Rotors turned at machine shop/mom n pop auto parts $25 each. They said very little was shaved off.

Reactions: chaudhrysb

·
Registered
5,398 Posts
I just reread your thread and saw youre at 60k km... not miles.