GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
I'd have to disagree with the article, at least from my experience. I don't think the problem is the test.

Every car I have owned has gotten pretty close or exceeded the sticker ratings. The problems people are having with the Equinox is a unique problem with the engine IMO.

·
Registered
315 Posts
fast200 said:
I'd have to disagree with the article, at least from my experience. I don't think the problem is the test.

Every car I have owned has gotten pretty close or exceeded the sticker ratings. The problems people are having with the Equinox is a unique problem with the engine IMO.
I have been driving company cars since 2001....Typically its cruise and FORGET for miles at at time, driving roughly 45K a year. I have NEVER owned a car that got the stated EPA on highway, they have all been lower. Fuel and speed @ which I cruise is the cause

I have gotten 30mpg on a tank in the Nox, and I average 27mpg....That is doing pretty darn good for what it is. EPA needs to modify its testing standards into real life, put it on real road conditions (track as drag does not come into play in testing but should...ie the NOX), put the air on (who doesnt use that?) and use gas that is available to the average customer...10% is standard, but even up to 15% is available, the more ethanol the less the mpg

Oh yea...it carries 250lbs of equipment in the rear all hte time

·
Registered
5 Posts
I sent an email to the EPA about the supposed fuel economy rating of the 4 cylinder Terrain. I too have always received pretty close or better than EPA ratings on my vehicles. My current 2008 Volvo gets better than EPA sticker rating but there is always a variant in those ratings. The EPA's answer to me in their email response didn't make much sense either. To me their newer ways of testing should make the rating much more accurate than the older rating but it seems to make it less accurate.