GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so I'm a newbie and just purchased a 2012 Nox, 1LT level with no gps. I'm wondering if there is anything different for navigation besides the software. The LCD screen is there and since I can get nav through OnStar there is a GPS receiver installed. Just curious if anyone knows what else there is between a model with and without navigation, and if that's all there is, how do i get my hands on that install file, haha

·
Registered
10,506 Posts
kain2thebrain said:
so I'm a newbie and just purchased a 2012 Nox, 1LT level with no gps. I'm wondering if there is anything different for navigation besides the software. The LCD screen is there and since I can get nav through OnStar there is a GPS receiver installed. Just curious if anyone knows what else there is between a model with and without navigation, and if that's all there is, how do i get my hands on that install file, haha
Nice try, but you need a lot more than software - much hardware, in fact.

·
Registered
10,506 Posts
kain2thebrain said:
What hardware? Not doubting you just curious what is missing.
It just seems that there must be more than just software - otherwise, it could be sold for $10 - although it wouldn't ! First off, do you have a DVD reader ? I would think that mapping data must be more than what can fit on a CD. Is your screen high enough resolution to be able to display streets, etc. Although, you probably have a lot of the parts needed, because they are offering a GPS-lite for $700 or so on the '12s compared to a couple grand on the '11s.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
RIT333 said: