GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,785 Posts
I'd have to guess near impossible.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
809 Posts
Looks like the instrument cluster from an Acadia Denali. In looking at pictures of the clusters, the Acadia and Terrain clusters both appear to be virtually the same shape and use the almost the same mounting tabs. They also have an identical wiring harness connector on the back. The question is whether the Terrain's computer will automatically recognize and know where to display data when connected to an Acadia Denali instrument cluster.

Used Acadia Denali clusters are ~$300.00 Is it worth the money and time to find out if it is a direct swap? Everyone has different comfort level with mods like this. I wouldn't swap out a perfectly functioning cluster to do something like this. Plus, it will not have all of the functionality that it did in the Acadia. So you might get the "look" but not all of the additional displays.

Acadia Denali Front
Vehicle Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Hood Grille

Acadia Denali Back
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Auto part Font Gadget


Terrain front
Automotive design Automotive lighting Rim Bicycle part Automotive tire

Terrain back
Automotive tire Tire Camera accessory Motor vehicle Wheel
 

·
Registered
2011 Equinox 1LT V6 3.0L FWD 174.6k miles
Joined
·
4,511 Posts
I don't normally pay attention to projects like this, but I'm pretty sure I remember happening upon a swap like this on another forum ... maybe the Impala forum (??)... where someone had proven some of these clusters are interchangeable.

Do you know exactly what you'd be gaining? Is it just for looks (??) ... because it's "multi-colored"?

Guy on the Acadia Forum used "White Audio Media" to help with programming for the swap ... but his was Acadia-to-Acadia. Maybe contact them and see what they say? They charged $199, BTW (or even $300+ for the 2nd guy in this thread):

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,082 Posts
About nine months ago there was a thread in the 2019 Blazer forum about installing an upgraded cluster in a new body style Blazer.
I believe "Flyboy" was the OP's name.

I think he also used White Auto Media.
He shipped his cluster to them, they did the upgrade, and shipped it back.
If I remember right he upgraded to the Premium trim.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Colt Hero

·
Registered
2011 Equinox 1LT V6 3.0L FWD 174.6k miles
Joined
·
4,511 Posts
@rednox301 : "Flyboy" paid $730! These numbers are getting more and more outrageous!

 
  • Like
Reactions: rednox301

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,082 Posts
@rednox301 : "Flyboy" paid $730! These numbers are getting more and more outrageous!

Yup, that's the one.
You know the old saying, ten cents more and you go first class.
 
  • Haha
Reactions: Colt Hero

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I contacted our local dealer. He confirmed that it is possible to do this. He has done this several times before. But here it is worth paying attention to the cluster that suits me. There are two types, one until 2020 with the release of HMI 2.5 and everything that comes next with the release of HMI 3.0. So they told me to search with the release of 2.5. Then all the functionality will work.
I even found a guy who mistakenly set himself the wrong cluster, and not all functions worked for him, but he ordered a new one and everything worked for him.
So it is possible.

I decided that I would do the same and as soon as I set up a new cluster for myself, I will share my experience with you.
 

·
Registered
2011 Equinox 1LT V6 3.0L FWD 174.6k miles
Joined
·
4,511 Posts
There are two types, one until 2020 with the release of HMI 2.5 and everything that comes next with the release of HMI 3.0. So they told me to search with the release of 2.5. Then all the functionality will work.
I even found a guy who mistakenly set himself the wrong cluster, and not all functions worked for him, but he ordered a new one and everything worked for him.
What is the list of that "functionality", and what didn't work going from 2.5 to 3.0? I think I'd want to know that before proceeding ...
 

·
Registered
2018 GMC Terrain SLE FWD 1.5
Joined
·
19 Posts
I contacted our local dealer. He confirmed that it is possible to do this. He has done this several times before. But here it is worth paying attention to the cluster that suits me. There are two types, one until 2020 with the release of HMI 2.5 and everything that comes next with the release of HMI 3.0. So they told me to search with the release of 2.5. Then all the functionality will work.
I even found a guy who mistakenly set himself the wrong cluster, and not all functions worked for him, but he ordered a new one and everything worked for him.
So it is possible.

I decided that I would do the same and as soon as I set up a new cluster for myself, I will share my experience with you.
Do you have any updates on this?
 

·
Registered
2011 Equinox 1LT V6 3.0L FWD 174.6k miles
Joined
·
4,511 Posts
It probably turned into a fustercluck...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Fear not. I've been talking to the folks over at WAMS, and will be performing this upgrade for myself here soon on my 2018 Terrain SLE. Just need to track down a suitable Acadia Denali cluster (was advised you REALLY want to match up the year, as well as the connectors/HMI version for everything to work properly) and finding one in good condition at a decent price has been a bit tough. Hoping to have it done within the next few weeks, and I will actually follow up here with a guide/final product.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
That’s awesome news! What about the 2022 Terrain SLT or Denali Cluster? Aren’t those upgraded and have more screen to analog dial ratio? I wonder if those would fit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Hmm, I haven't seen them in person, but the photos just look like the 22' Terrain has the same exact cluster as the old Acadia Denali's, so I think it's essentially the same thing. Also, they didn't dive into why, but the guys at WAMS who do the programming said it's pretty important to match the year up, ie. I need to find a cluster from a 2018 Acadia for my 2018 Terrain. I'll definitely do some more looking before taking the plunge though and see if that would maybe be an easier solution!
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top