GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I first bought my 2011'Nox at the beginning of this month, I asked the dealership about the Dexos oil requirement and the salesman and every person I spoke to in the service department even the service manager said they never heard about Dexos. :eek: Also, they said they use normal dino oil in all of they're oil changes except the Corvette (Mobil 1). Other than doing it myself, which I have never done before, what should I do?

·
Registered
10,522 Posts
jamesvl said:
Other than doing it myself, which I have never done before, what should I do?
Somehow, you're going to have to either educate them about Dexos, or else call the regional Chevy Office and explain the situation, and have them explain it to them. They need to be better at doing their homework. Shame on them.

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
OK, to save some searching (I'm at work) can someone point to a thread about this Dexos?
We have a 2010 Terrain and I'm confused about what type of oil to put in it.
Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
15 Posts
gearhead said:
OK, to save some searching (I'm at work) can someone point to a thread about this Dexos?
We have a 2010 Terrain and I'm confused about what type of oil to put in it.
Thanks for any help.

ww.orangelineoil.com/articles1-80/PennzoilandQuakerStateareGMDEXOSApproved

·
Registered
441 Posts

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Excellent, thanks for the quick feedback.
I'll remember this post next oil change (prolly around late spring/early summer 2011).
Funny how our Dealer didn't mention this whatsover last oil change a couple of weeks ago even though we have a 2010.
I will surely bring it up to them.
Thanks again!

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
2010 models dont have the dexos requirement.

Basically, just use any syn oil and youll be good to go.

So sad to see that a dealership isnt up to speed on this. Their GM must really be an idiot.

·
Registered