GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally did it--changed the oil and filter on my new Nox. First time I have changed the oil on my own car in 40 years. I used this forum to help me and everything went without a hitch. Put a new WIX filter and 5 quarts of Pennzoil Platinum at a total cost of 32.00. I did have to buy first time items--ratchet, sockets, wrench, oil pan and ramp--but won't have to pay for those items again. Took all of 20 minutes and I saved about 50 bucks.

·
Registered
14 Posts
With the saving of doing it yourself, you can purchase exceptional quality oil and filters for the price of a conventional oil change done at any shop. I've been doing my own oil changes since 1978 starting with my 1967 Cutlass. My son had a 2004 Cavalier with the I4 Ecotech motor and already had the tool for the oil filter, so when we bought the 2011 Equinox, I had these already. How much and where did you find the Wix filter?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I went on Amazon automotive and purchased 3 for about 26 bucks with free shipping and no tax--they arrived in 3 days---also will try Mobil One oil filters in the future. It was nice to have no gas smell in the oil and no shavings or particles in the old filter.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Sweet. I'm fixing to head out to the garage to do mine. I picked up some Pennzoil Ultra w/a Pureone filter. It's only got 900 miles (give or take a couple) and it's time for change #1.

·
Registered
120 Posts
I definitely want to make my synthetic change to Pennzoil Platinum, just curious to where you guys find such good deals where its only costing $32 per change?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I get the 5 quart size of pennzoil platinum at the big store that starts with W for 24.99 and order the filter online for about 8.00, so about 32.00 for both. My mileage was at 1600 for change # 1. Will probably do change # 2 at 7500 miles.

·