GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I too have troubles with my 2018 Equinox Premier. Have had alignment done three times in 36k miles. First tires lasted to 22k miles. Second set is Falken all season. Rotate every 5 k miles. Rear set worn to wear bars in 15k miles. The car is absolutely squirlly on snowy roads regardless of position of awd switch. It acts like front is out of sync with rear drive. I cant blame the tires as I have been using these on my other vehicles with great wear including my 2500HD 4x4. I have never owned a vehicle that handled so poorly on snow, ever, and I have been driving these conditions every winter for over 50 years. I am seriously considering getting rid of the car. It is nice in every way but this! It is always the rear tires that wear the worst.

·
Registered
2017 Equinox LT 2.4 FWD
465 Posts
Couple of things come to mind, first to make sure that your not in AWD all the time no matter what your selector switch says, get all 4 wheels off the ground either on a lift or jackstands and test. Secondly on those wheel alignments, just front wheel alignment or a 4 wheel alignment? I strongly suggest the latter with the rear tires wearing out so soon.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Couple of things come to mind, first to make sure that your not in AWD all the time no matter what your selector switch says, get all 4 wheels off the ground either on a lift or jackstands and test. Secondly on those wheel alignments, just front wheel alignment or a 4 wheel alignment? I strongly suggest the latter with the rear tires wearing out so soon.
The rear tires wear evenly across the tire to the point of being nearly slicks, but yes, I have had 4 wheel alignment. As for the switch, I have not tried taking all wheels off the ground to see. Thanks for the reply. It is a very nice vehicle other than that and the terrible performance on snow

·
Registered
765 Posts