GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y'all,

Quick question. I can't seem to find any info on this anywhere.


Can we swap out head units on this car? I'm trying to upgrade to Android Auto and it appears that there are 0 options for head units for this make/model.

TIA.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
531 Posts
Hey y'all,



Quick question. I can't seem to find any info on this anywhere.





Can we swap out head units on this car? I'm trying to upgrade to Android Auto and it appears that there are 0 options for head units for this make/model.



TIA.


says it’ll fit 2010+ terrain and equinox... for some reason i think i remember the plugs are diff on the 16-17 i’d call metra first to be sure or check metras website for an application chart. then just pick whichever aftermarket head unit you want. only downfall to this and it’s something that would bother the h*** out of me is you leave the factory screen in place so basically you’ll have 2 screens



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
531 Posts
says it’ll fit 2010+ terrain and equinox... for some reason i think i remember the plugs are diff on the 16-17 i’d call metra first to be sure or check metras website for an application chart. then just pick whichever aftermarket head unit you want. only downfall to this and it’s something that would bother the h*** out of me is you leave the factory screen in place so basically you’ll have 2 screens



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


actually i just looked and the kit you need is different, looks the same but diff plugs... u need one for 2013-17 it appears


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
says it’ll fit 2010+ terrain and equinox... for some reason i think i remember the plugs are diff on the 16-17 i’d call metra first to be sure or check metras website for an application chart. then just pick whichever aftermarket head unit you want. only downfall to this and it’s something that would bother the h*** out of me is you leave the factory screen in place so basically you’ll have 2 screens



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


actually i just looked and the kit you need is different, looks the same but diff plugs... u need one for 2013-17 it appears


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah I've seen that kit. I'm looking for an actual replacement for the touchscreen. One that has Android Auto built in, like by Sony or something. From what I'm seeing, nothing can be installed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
531 Posts
Yeah I've seen that kit. I'm looking for an actual replacement for the touchscreen. One that has Android Auto built in, like by Sony or something. From what I'm seeing, nothing can be installed.


sorry when i had my 2015 this is all i could come up up without doing a total custom install, i was looking to run apple carplay. navtv makes a unit that uses the factory screen and adds nav and lets u mirror the phone screen/play video on the factory screen... not exactly android auto but it’s better than the stock setup. i ended up trading it in for a 2018 with the 8” screen and apple carplay so i never go around to doug anything with the head unit in the 2015 good luck with ur search


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
So when you look up systems on Crutchfeld it shows a number of head units for the terrain. Don't these replace the factory touchscreen ?
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top