GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to the forum, but have been working on upgrading the "paper" speakers that came with my Terrain. I just changed out the 6.5" door speakers with a pair of Infinity Kappas and some Pioneer's. I was keeping in mind the difference of the impedance of the front doors and rear doors since they were different. I just got a Kicker sub I'm wanting to put in when i replace the stock sub. Additionally, i got a separate amp for the sub to ensure adequate power running to it. Not really sure what this will do for the ANC, but time will tell. The door speaker swap alone was enough that I'm now experience the 5 second start up bass drop as was mentioned in another post.

Anyway, I was looking around and haven't found any one talking about the tear down to get to the rear sub. I'm sure i can figure it out once i get going, but thought i'd see if i can any tips or anything to help the tear down go smoother. Also, any advice as to wiring the amp. The amp is a Kicker CXA300.1 and can be wired two different ways for the remote turn on. The best being running an 18 ga wire to the head unit, but without tearing the deck apart and hooking it up to the head unit, but i'm willing to bet the stock head unit doesn't have a remote output or preamps for the sub wiring (if i'm wrong PLEASE tell me). The last time i did any significant car audio modifications was probably about 12 years ago. So I'm a little rusty, but for what it's worth the speaker doors were as easy as what most would hope they should be. So i like to think i still have a little know how going for me still.