GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About 45 seconds after I start the car, it just stops running. It putters and fights, but just stalls. After I restart, it never stalls again until it sits for a while. I am reading code P0420 as well. I called a local AM radio car show and they said the cat converter and the stalling should be independent events and to replace the electronic throttle bottle, which I did, and it still stalls. Maybe I need to calibrate?? I'm a DIY newbie and I am struggling here. Any thoughts please?

·
Registered
537 Posts
That is going to be a bad sensor or up to a bad pcm. When you first start the car it doesn't read the upstream 02 sensor or maf until about a minute or more depending on temperatures but goes off of pre determined values. You are tricking the computer into driving the car basically by skewing those temperature readings when you restart it so it will run off of those factory set values until it reaches a range where it can calculate fuel ratio/ temperature for maximum fuel economy. You do need to do an idle relearn procedure for a new throttle body but, that's probably not the issue. If you want to trick it into running all the time you could probably just disconnect the upstream 02 it will throw a check engine light and run rich but its kind of dangerous to be running the car the way you are because chances are when the computer catches up it will probably stall u could lose power steering.

Bear with me this post is getting long

So your throwing a P0420... Catalytic converter below efficiency.