GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie. Hope I am posting in the right place.
I recently took a 2013 Equinox into the dealer for excessive oil consumption, which was covered by a class action settlement. The dealer made the repair, but I discovered something in the paperwork that is disturbing to me: The paperwork showed all of the parts, gaskets and hardware that you would expect to see when replacing all of the piston assemblies, but showed only one piston assembly replaced.
The class action settlement indicates that GM will replace the pistons (plural), and the dealer paperwork indicated that they replaced the pistons (again, plural). The paperwork listed only one piston assembly, and the service rep confirmed that they did only change one piston assembly. The part no. indicates that a piston assembly includes one piston, one wrist pin, and the rings. Their paperwork also indicated that the piston rings were stuck.
Does this make any sense to anyone else-- To tear down an engine that far and not replace the other three piston assemblies?
I haven't driven the car enough yet to see if the oil consumption problem is gone. I'm just wondering if anyone else has heard of this happening before. It does have 86000 miles on the odometer. Also, any suggestions?

·
Registered
5 Posts
No, it doesn’t sound at all correct but given this is a dealer and this is a forced recall/mandated repair, anything is possible. The exact wording of the recall/suit may contain statements like replace up to a number of pistons/rings but might offer a limited replacement to the specific damage found after tear down. I wish I had more to offer but could you share with me more info on the class action suit as I too have a 2013 Equinox. What engine do you have?
Thanks.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3