GMC Terrain, Equinox, and SRX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at possibly buying a 2011 Chevy Equinox. It has everything I am looking for with relatively low miles. However, where I live we do get snow. I live in a rural area were plows come after it's done snowing. I have a driveway with a 30 degree incline. How will it handle in 5-6 inches of snow up a 30 degree incline? I'm home alone until Thursday night most weeks. A lot of nights I get home late and really can't be up late as I go in early the next day. So I may wait a day before I can shovel the snow. I am looking for a newer vehicle than what I have (2001 Subaru Outback). I had issues with that up the driveway but I believe because there wasn't enough ground clearance. Pretty sure it handles the flat roads fine. Just looking for something that will make it up my driveway so I don't have to shovel right away. I can do it on a day I get home early and go in later.

Also I know the 2010 - 2012 I think had the 2.4 engine issues ( or so I've read on other forums) Does the 3.0L V6 have the same issues? Are there other issues I need to be aware of?

Thanks!
Mel

·
Registered
5,382 Posts
First, Welcome to the Forum.

The Equinox can be pretty good in snow with the right tires. And yes, V6 AWD would be best. Member Buggsey might be around to give his experience with going to AWD and a steeper driveway IIRC.

Plus, if you look around and can swing the price, most here would strongly advise a 2013 or newer with the 3.6L V6 engine. Even if it had 60,000 to 70,000 well maintained miles on it.
The 3.0L V6 can be hit or miss. By the 2013 model year, Equinox/Terrain 3.6L V6 became a very reliable drive train and vehicle.

Putting it another way, I would give the same advise to a family member . . emphatically!

Happy and successful Equinox shopping to you !

·
Registered
242 Posts